REVIEW: The Precious Stone Trilogy

So some of you know that I read Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier as my first (and only) book in the Rainbowthon. I had such a hangover because of that book, that I didn’t finish the rest of my TBR for that challenge. I had to wait a week to get Sapphire Blue from my library, because they had to order it from another library. I then proceeded to read both Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green in two days.

Ruby Red Ruby Red

It took me a really long time to actually pick this book up. I have had this book on my shelf forever, but every time I would try to read it, I would end up picking something else up instead for some reason. The beginning of this book felt extremely slow to me. There is a lot of explaining that needed to be done to get the book rolling, and it felt like we had just gotten to the good stuff when the book ended. Once the time travelling “adventures” began. I really enjoyed this book. Overall, I gave it a 3 out of 5 stars. I understand why it was necessary, and it made the trilogy as a whole better, but I couldn’t get over the huge exposition.

Sapphire BlueSapphire Blue

I read this book straight through from when I picked it up until 1 in the morning (with summer school interrupting :/ ). It was amazing! I loved how we learned a little more about what was going on. I wish that more of what we learned in this book had been in the first one, but that would have been a HUGE book. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. We finally got more into the real plot, and learned more about some of the characters. Though, if you are going to read it, have Emerald Green on stand-by.

Emerald GreenEmerald Green

This was the perfect ending to the trilogy. It answered every question that was posed throughout the past two books (including who Mr. Bernard is (OH MY GOSH… not at all what I expected)). I absolutely adored this book. I was upset at the end because I couldn’t believe that this trilogy was over, but I couldn’t have asked for a better ending. This was definitely 5 out of 5 stars!

I definitely recommend this series. If you read Ruby Red and maybe didn’t likely, I still say that you should pick up Sapphire Blue and give it a shot, because the series gets better as it goes on.

RAWR!!

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Precious Stone Trilogy

Leave a Reply

