Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Cruel Beauty Quote Cruel Beauty Quote2

Synopsis from Goodreads: Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publisher: Balzer and Bray

Number of Pages: 342

Genre: Fantasy (Beauty and The Beast Retelling)

Where I acquired this book: Barnes and Noble

When I read this book: July 11-18

Ratings on a Scale of 1-10

Quality of writing: 10

Pace: 10

Plot Development: 10

Characters: 10

Enjoyability: 10

Insightfulness: 10

Ease of Reading: 10

This book was absolutely amazing. I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel when I started reading this book, because I hadn’t heard many reviews on it. I picked it up because I had recently read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas and I loved that book (which was also a Beauty and The Beast retelling). While I bought this book because the background was similar, these books were entirely different from each other. Rosamund Hodge did a fantastic job creating these characters, and while there is a “love triangle”, I couldn’t decide who I wanted Nyx to end up with. All of the notes that I took while reading this are about who I thought the villain was, because I really couldn’t figure out who the bad guy was going to be (though one of my early theories was right 😀 ). One of the concepts that I found fascinating about this book, was that no one really knew what the past was, so through out the book everyone is trying to figure out what is going on, so you kind of learn about the world right along with the characters. I also thought that the magic in the book was unique and interesting, it wasn’t like every other type of magic that I’ve read about. I would definitely recommend this to any Fantasy fans. This book made me laugh and scream and sob, it just brings out so many feels. It is 100% amazing!

OVERALL RATING (out of 5): 5 stars

Tell me what you thought about this book if you’ve read it. Do you enjoy fairytale retellings? If so, what is your favorite fairytale and retelling?

RAWR!!

Leave a Reply

