Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Number of Pages: 391

Genre: Fantasy

Where I acquired this book: Borrowed from my sister

When I read this book: July 19-21

Ratings on a Scale of 1-10

Quality of writing: 7

Pace: 6

Plot Development: 7

Characters: 7

Enjoyability: 6

Insightfulness: 7

Ease of Reading: 7

I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel when I was going into this book, because I have heard from some people that this book is amazing and other people say that they hated it. My sister bought this when we were on vacation, and she adored it, so I decided to give it a shot, since I ran out of books to read in the car. While the book was fairly easy to read, I had a hard time finding a plot. It seemed like all we were doing was watching Nora go to school. I also didn’t like a lot of the characters, even Nora was annoying. There was one part in the book where she automatically jumped to an unrealistic conclusion. One character I did like was Patch, because he was intriguing, and his character had the same personality at the end, which I liked, because it would have been unrealistic if he “changed for her” in the short time period. I thought the premise behind this book was cool, so I am still going to continue the series, but I would not consider this one of my favorites. I think that if you want to try this book, you should, because the reviews are so mixed on it, that you might like it more than I did.

OVERALL RATING (out of 5): 5 stars

Tell me what you thought of this book if you’ve read it. Do you often continue a series if you didn’t love the first book?

RAWR!!

5 thoughts on “Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Ah, yes, so much of this book revolves around Nora and school which wouldn’t have been half as bad if Nora was more likeable. She annoyed me to no end and jumping to conclusions is her specialty (so watch out).
    I finished this series only because I had to know what happened but definitely not because of Nora.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I just finished the second one and have found that it seems to be getting worse. Nora is needy and oblivious to the fact the not everything revolves around her. I am trying to finish the series because it is my sister’s favorite, but that is the only thing keeping me from stopping at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not to mention, WHINEY. Totally agree with you, shallow and self-absorbed, she’s one of my least favorite female protags in a book. Good luck finishing it, try not to yank out all your hair in the process! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

