Paper Towns Book + Movie Review

Book Review

Author: John Green

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Number of Pages: 305

Genre: Contemporary

Where I acquired this book: Sam’s Club

When I read this book: July 7-9

Ratings on a Scale of 1-10

Quality of writing: 10

Pace: 9

Plot Development: 9

Characters: 9

Enjoyability: 9

Insightfulness: 10

Ease of Reading: 10

I loved reading this book, I thought it was a quick and easy read. I was trying really hard to save it for when I went on vacation, so that I could read it on the beach, but I just flew through it. John Green is the only contemporary author that I have been able to enjoy (and I have tried to read others recently, but have failed to finish any other contemporaries). This book is meaningful and still funny and lighthearted at times. I wasn’t expecting to love this book as much as I did, but it blew me away. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone, even if you aren’t a huge contemporary fan, you should still give this book a try.

OVERALL RATING (out of 5): 5 stars

DSCN0589

Movie Review

Reviews out of 10

Accuracy: 7

Acting: 10

Comedy: 8

I went to see this movie on opening day with a whole bunch of my friends, and I really enjoyed it. The reason that I gave it 7 out of 10 on accuracy is that, while it wasn’t exactly like the books, I think that the ways that they changed it made it a better movie, because if they had kept it exactly like the books, there would have been a lot of time watching Q sitting down and thinking for hours, which was great in the books, because we were able to learn more about the characters, but it would have been boring to watch in the movie. The one thing I didn’t like was the change to the ending between Q and Margo, because I think that moment was really important to the story. I thought that the actors played their characters perfectly and were able to show their little quirks and insecurities. I thought this movie was a good adaptation of a great book (plus their is a certain cameo by an actor from The Fault in Our Stars, that I was really excited about ;D ). I think that people who haven’t read the books will enjoy it, and if you have read the books, I think you will enjoy the movie too, as long as you recognize that it would be impossible to have an exact copy of the book turned into movie form.

Overall Review out of 5: 4 stars

Tell me what you thought of the book/movie. What other contemporary authors would you recommend?

RAWR!!

Leave a Reply

