NaNoWrimo 2015 Update and Tag

So I have made the commitment to join some of my fellow insane writers and write 50,000 words in 30 days. We’ll see how this goes. This year, I am writing kind of a SciFi/Fantasy novel. So far it is not at all like I planned, but I kind of like the direction it’s rolling in, so I am just going to let it go. I have just pasted the 10k mark, so I am on track, but I still have another 1,667 words to write today. I decided to do the NaNoWriMo tag, created by Kristina Horner on youtube, so without further ado, here it is.

The Questions:

1. How many times have you done NaNoWriMo?

This will be my second year “participating”. I put that in quotes because even though I technically joined last year, I quit about a week in do to stress. So this will be my first year taking it seriously.

2. How did you first find out about NaNoWriMo?

I first found out about NaNoWriMo at my first book signing with Sarah J Maas, Erin Bowman, Susan Dennard, and Kat Zhang. I think it was Kat who brought up that she had done NaNo in the past, and since I really looked up to her (and still do) I decided I should give it a go. But I technically didn’t do it until a year later.

3. What was the name of the first novel you attempted with NaNo?

I think I named it “A Chained Crown” or something like that, I don’t know because I deleted the draft at some point.

4. Give us a 1 sentence summary of what you’re writing this year.

A girl living on the streets develops powers and goes on a journey to find out more about her past and why she has this strange ability.

5. What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Get your inner editor to shut up and just write. I personally have a problem with this because I am kind of a grammar nerd when I am reading things, but I have an inability to use the correct grammar as I am writing, so when I read a line and it doesn’t sound right, which is most of the time, I tend to delete it right away, thereby diminishing my word count. This year I have avoided rereading any scenes, and even though my style isn’t quite where I want it to be, I am trying to get the story out, and I figure that the rewriting process will be easier once I know the story line.

6. Did you ever take a year off from NaNo? Why?

No, but this is only my second year, and like I said earlier I don’t count the first year.

7. What’s your biggest inspiration when figuring out what to write?

I have this huge notebook filled with all the things that inspire me. I often get inspired by things that I have read in the past, or tv shows I am watching. I also tend to get ideas from random dreams that I write in there. The story I am currently writing was an old idea I came up with a while ago that kind of spun out of control. It started as a kind of Maximum Ride meets The Darkest Minds kind of thing, but at this point it is completely different and I have no idea what to compare it to.

8. Read us the first sentence from one of your novels.

I guess I will have to use this one since the old one no longer exists, so here goes:

“You never know how fast you can run until you have something to run away from.”

Kind of cheesy, but I suck at beginnings and it needs to start somewhere.

9. Why do you love writing?

I have trouble expressing myself in words, so I find writing a good way to get my ideas into the world, without the stress that speaking gives me. I also love reading books and have had amazing experiences with certain books, so I want to be able to give someone else that experience that I have had.

So that’s the NaNoWriMo tag! Tell me in the comments if you are participating. What’s your novel about? Add me as a buddy if you are doing it! My username is Secretwriter99. Now I better get back to writing because if I get behind there is no freaking way I will be able to catch back up.

RAWR!!

One thought on “NaNoWrimo 2015 Update and Tag

Leave a Reply

