Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yachtPersephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

AuthorCarrie Ryan

PublisherDutton Books

Number of Pages375

GenreMystery Thriller

Where I acquired this bookYA Fandom Frenzy

When I read this bookNovember ?-30

Ratings on a Scale of 1-10

Quality of writing: 8

Pace: 7

Plot Development: 8

Characters7

Enjoyability7

Ease of Reading: 10

When I met the author, she described it as Arrow (the show on the CW) meets Revenge (the show on, I think, CBS). I just caught up on Arrow a little while ago, and the rest of my family was obsessed with Revenge (and by obsessed I mean that it was playing 24/7 for months, especially because everyone was at a different spot in the series). The premise itself sounds fantastic and I did find it interesting; however, it felt like it dragged a little bit in some parts and other parts were skimmed over when I felt there could have been more there. The ending was also a little disappointing to me because it felt anticlimactic. The story had small things throughout that gave me hope for the ending, but I felt it was wrapped up a little too quickly. The way I am describing it right now makes it sound like a horrible book, and it really is a good book, it just wasn’t as good as I thought it was going to be. It is still an enjoyable read, and I would recommend it as a quick read, because it is a stand alone.

OVERALL RATING (out of 5): 4 stars

Let me know if you have read this in the comments below. What did you think about it?

RAWR!!

Leave a Reply

